Messy Mind

The Random Writer
2 min readFeb 28, 2021
Graphic by iconicTYPE

When I started this blog I gave myself the goal of writing and publishing at least one article per week. Easy right? Yes and no. In the beginning I was writing for myself, but through the power of WordPress I quickly gained a small following who have been liking and responding to my articles. I now have an idea of which topics interest people and the style of writing that resonates the most. With that in mind, surely I just apply the same style to similar topics. The problem I am faced with is a combination of overthinking, perfectionism and procrastination or as I like to call it ‘overperfectionation’. I have a handful of first draft articles and dozens of ideas scattered across multiple notes yet I’m being held back by my own self doubt.

“If you wish to improve, be content to be thought foolish and stupid.”

-Epictetus

Often life feels like a game that is set on easy mode (obviously this is a luxury and I am fully aware that it is a first world problem), causing me to get bored easily unless I’m truly interested in an activity. This article for instance is proving hard to write but also giving me the stimulation I crave. This kind of subject is what you like, it’s also what I like to write about, however it is difficult to express your overall thoughts on something as abstract as the human psyche.

--

--

The Random Writer
0 Followers

I am a man with many interests who likes the freedom to write whatever comes to mind, hence ’The Random Writer’.